top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureNicholas Deluzio

Vacuum Vault Dev Blog #1 (1/23/20)

This is the start of a new blog about working on my current project; Vacuum Vault.


As a little bit of background, this is an ongoing project where I've been brought on as the primary music/sound designer. The game itself is a an exploration/adventure game where the player wields a vacuum gun to manipulate the terrain around them.


I was very excited to begin work on this project because the idea of the game seemed very novel and fun to me. As we've had our first few team meetings, I started to get a sense of the theme for the game, and the context we would be working in from the other designers. The game prior to me joining it, was focused largely on systems and gameplay, and a lot less on narrative and context. Now that we're taking a fresh look at it though, it seems the consensus was a mixture of Norse and Space for the context.

 

After these initial meetings, we started to go off and do individual work, and that's where my contribution (and this blog) take place! For this first week, I started to study the theme of the game and the gameplay so far, and began to make a comprehensive Music Reference List. This was a list that I wanted the other team members to be able to reference as an index of already existing songs from similar games that could fit our potential theme in our game.

It was just a simple document where I gathered music from popular games and shared my thoughts on why they would or wouldn't be a good fit for our theme.


Without going into every single one, below is a gallery to listen to each song, and a link to the document to read my thoughts on them!



For the next few weeks, I'm gonna start toying around with what I have learned with similar music tracks, and start to write basic melodies to hopefully test that vision.

8 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Vacuum Vault Postmortem (4/30/20)

Work on Eira: Echoes of Adventure has finally drawn to a close. After 4 months of development, its finally going to be released on Steam in just about a week. I logged most of my thoughts throughout t

Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page